What Are You Thankful For?

DSCF4125

 

This Thursday when you sit around your table with family and friends, what will you be thankful for?

If your family is anything like mine, Thanksgiving prayers will generally consist of being grateful for food, health and shelter.

While there are many blessings in life to be thankful for this holiday season, I feel the most gratitude for the ability to breathe, to move and think. This allows me to experience life’s beautiful opportunities. Some may see my life and ask, “What’s to be cheerful about, everything you do is dependent on being tethered to an oxygen chord. To that I retort, “There are no problems in life, only challenges.”

On the days I feel my difficulties are insurmountable, I remind myself that things could be worse. If I compare myself with Hulk Hogan, I’m a wimp. If I compare myself with Popeye’s girlfriend Olive Oyl, I’m the strongest man alive! It all comes down to perspective and controlling your mindset in order to achieve personal goals.

Mind over matter.

When I was in the hospital with a collapsed lung and hooked to a ventilator, it was uncertain if I would ever breathe on my own again. After weeks of fluctuating recovery, I was weened off the breathing tube as my lungs became stronger! My mentality was summed up by my favorite Sir Ben Kingsley quote: “Where there’s a WILL, there’s a WAY…..and there’s ALWAYS a will.”

It’s been over 20 years and while I am not fully independent of breathing assistance, I AM breathing independently!
I guess the moral of the story is that if you have the ability to think, move and breath, ANYTHING is possible! That is something we can all be thankful for.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

