Quality breathing for a Quality life

IMG_0112 Whether you have breathing issues like me or just seek to get healthy and build endurance, I have a few engaging slide shows that will give you the tools to restore your organs and improve your energy. But about that in a moment…..

It started when I was 5 or 6. After going through a series of corrective heart surgeries, my left lung collapsed and although it regained some functionality, it’s always been a little weak. To make matters more challenging, my scoliosis has slowly obstructed my right lungs functionality, limiting my long-term activity.

A turning point in my life came during highschool. I went for my yearly pulmonary doctor checkup and he suggested going on supplemental oxygen. Like those old people carrying around tanks with plastic up their nose? Yes and No. He prescribed an oxygen concentrator (A plug-in machine that makes oxygen) for home-use. Wearing it at night immediately cured my morning headaches leaving me to attend the few hours of school, untethered to an oxygen tube, like a “normal” kid. FH000015

As I grew older, my breathing became more oxygen dependant and my doctors tried to help by suggesting ways to improve my quality of life. Summarizing one doctor’s prognosis, there’s no magic pill to cure my heart and lung complications but I can work hard to feel good and be happy with the time I have now. Staying positive and motivated, I have discovered a love for cooking and gain a lot of pleasure from trying new creations. Other passions of late are yoga, pottery and gardening.

DSCF0271

Today I was fortunate to come across these highly informative slide shows on how to combat COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease). This stuff will definitely benefit anyone who has trouble breathing! The last two slide show links help me breathe easier and have more energy to do the things I am passionate about. I hope they can do the same thing for you!

~ Breathe This Life ~ ________________________________________________________

Chronic coughing and wheezing may be early warning signs of lung disease. Our slide show explains the symptoms and treatments for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).

The more you exercise, the better you’ll feel with COPD. Breathe easier with these 10 exercises.

When you have COPD, eating right may help boost your energy. WebMD shows you how in pictures and words.

Leave a Reply

