A Christmas Gift

Christmas presents under the tree

There is nothing as exhilarating to an innocent child than waking up Christmas morning and running out to see what Santa brought the night before! This scene is so epically depicted in the film The Christmas Story.

When I was 8 years old I took ‘Storyat face value, not seeing the subtle humor. As I grew older and my perspective changed, I began noticing the similarities between the movie dad and my real dad. In fact, I have a vivid memory of my dad casually asking my brother and I “What’s that?…underneath the tree….tucked in back?” Anyone familiar with A Christmas Story remembers that ending scene. The beauty of the film is that all members of my family can relate to their character counterpart.

christmas-story

To me, now, the message of that scene is that a Christmas gift becomes not what’s in the wrapping paper but the joy seen upon family members’ face. So this year I made it my goal to focus my attention on my gift-giving list, instead of my “wish list” to Santa. As the old saying goes, “Things don’t bring a person happiness…” but it always feels good to give (and receive) a beautifully wrapped package. Especially when you know the gift is appreciated.

With Christmas only a few days away there are many people scrambling to buy stocking stuffers, organize holiday dinner parties and get those decorations just right. I’ve tried to do my shopping early but ever since the last thanksgiving plate was cleared off the table, people have been storming the malls as if they were the beaches of Nomandy! It’s crazy! Packed stores, long lines, impossible parking…making it difficult for someone to pull and maneuvor oxygen tanks quickly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_KwxvGnq5o

How can I, or someone with oxygen challenges, then bring joy to loved ones? 

Where can I turn that will allow me to order a wide variety of goods from home, at a discounted price?

There are many websites devoted to this idea but I use and would advise Ebay, any day of the week! Direct shipping. No hassle. Competitive prices. Save your time and energy which can be used for holiday cooking and decorating. Click-Click and it’s shipped to your door….just like pizza delivery!

Through a little listening and online detective work I was able to buy most of my family’s gifts around Thanksgiving. By December 10th, they were wrapped neatly under our tree….with 2 weeks till the big day! No stress:)

[Edit: OK, it’s December 20 and I have one more gift to buy. I talked to the guy on the phone today and will pick it up tomorrow. Then it’s just a matter of wrapping and placing it in it’s new home; under the tree.]

christmas-tree1

~ Breathe Easy! ~

Leave a Reply

