Why I’m A Weekday Vegitarian

vegetarian-protein

Back when I was lil runt in elementary school, I had big ideas about saving the world from environmental decay. I remember feeling sheer joy when, on Earth Day, our grade planted a tree on campus.

One afternoon recess when I usually played full court basketball with the boys, I happened to eye the water fountain. The pipe undernieth it was dripping. OK, whatever. The janitor will fix it tomarrow.
The next day; still dripping. And the next; same thing.
I alerted the teacher on playground duty and she ashured me it would be taken care of.
Each night I would obsess and worry in my mind, calculating each drop per second and how much water was wasted each night.
Every day I’d remind the teacher on duty about the leak. Finally a week later, recess came and I went to take a look: A huge bolt was fastened over the area where the leak was…stopping it up. FIXED! That was the first time when I felt that with a little perseverence, anyone could improve our environment.

Ever since, I have been a staunch advocate for Mother Earth. As I grew older and educated myself on our cutlure’s agroculture and meat industres, it became evident that what I was eating was not in line with my environmental ideals. For some ideas of what I’m refering to, check out the film Food,Inc. For that reason and a general betterment of my health, I decided to go vegitarian.

In my last post I explained why it was necesaary for me to decrease my carbohydrate inake. So, now I’m cutting out meat AND pasta.

What’s the catch? I LOVE pasta and while not a HUGE fan of meat, I couldn’t imagine NEVER having it again. I mean, who doesn’t like a good stake and mushrooms with a baked potato on special occations?? My go-to lunch is and has always been ramen soup and a turkey sanwhich. Cutting that out would be like loosing a finger: I could live without it but it’d always feel like something was missing 😦

So how do we start the habit of eating well or keeping to a specific diet? I’m sure you’ve heard that it takes 30 days of repetition to form a habit….so it would stand to reason that the same would hold true for starting a diet, right? Well, if you are like me, you start on a new leaf with good intentions but fall back into old traps of compfort. “I shouldn’t eat pizza….but I’m too tired to cook. I deserve a reward anyway.” Or “I know this pasta dish will make me feel lathargic for hours….but it tastes sooo good. I can get my chores done tomarrow.”

So what’s the solution? How can we maintain a healthy diet without getting discouraged by slip-ups? Graham Hill has powerful philosophy taking the veg-culture by storm! Check out this 4 minute video and post your comments!

What we eat regulates our emotions and our productivity. We need to look at what we eat not simply in items of tastes and textures but as fuel to run this complex machine called the Human Body.

~Breathe Eazy~

4 thoughts on “Why I’m A Weekday Vegitarian

  1. Interesting idea Tom. I dont know if I could do 5 out of 7 days, but maybe I will try 1 out of 7 days and see how it goes. Thanks for the tip.

    Like

  2. I actually come to know this article. I just? ve been seeking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I stumbled upon this on Msn. You have made my day time! Thanks yet again

    Like

Leave a Reply

