A Healthy Diet Can Fight COPD & Breathing Problems

When I was young I would eat anything. Meat, vegetables, fruits, potatos….my favorites were pasta dishes! And my mom was a great cook. Spaghetti, Lasagna, fettuccine Alfredo, a family recipe shell-noodle bake famous to all the neighborhood kids. In fact, the only thing the only thing I didn’t enjoy at dinnertime was broccoli….yuk!

As I matured and nurtured a love of cooking, I studied how certain foods effected my health, specifically my breathing. A few years ago I joined a weekly regimen of lung theropist – monitored exercising called Pulmonary Rehab. One bit of knowledge that shocked me was that pasta is the worst thing for lung patients. As the American Lung Association website notes:

Foods contain three major sources of energy: carbohydrates, protein, and fat. The metabolism of each requires a different amount of oxygen and produces a different amount of carbon dioxide. Metabolism of carbohydrates produces the most carbon dioxide for the amount of oxygen used; metabolism of fat produces the least. For some people with COPD, eating a diet with less carbohydrates and more fat helps them to breathe easier.

This is especially troubling for me as my lungs already trap in carbon dioxide. To strengthen my breathing, in addition to cutting carbohydrates, I do yoga, light weights and  use a Volumetric Incentive Spirometer, or as I call it, a “Puffer.”

http://www.activeforever.com/volumetric-incentive-spirometer-by-airlife

It may seem difficult to fight severe illnesses with plain-O-naturally grown food but remember the old saying, “You are what you eat!”

For more about how to beat COPD nutritionally, visit the American Lung Association website at http://www.lung.org/lung-disease/copd/living-with-copd/nutrition.html

One thought on “A Healthy Diet Can Fight COPD & Breathing Problems

  1. Love that you are making healthy food choices which won’t compromise your breathing any more than it already is. Your stir fries, fruit plates, even giving up your beloved white bread for whole grain. Way to go!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

