Who Am I ?

know theyself cover

In my last post, I discussed having confidence. But to be sure of one’s self, we need to know who that “self” is.

Nowadays everyone goes, goes, goes so fast. We grasp at answers without fully understanding the question. Websites, Twitter, Facebook, Blog pages, photo sharing sites; life moves so fast. We get caught up in the hustle and bustle of making ourselves known that we lose sight of who we really are.

The 17th century French author François Duc de La Rochefoucauld said,

“We are so accustomed to disguise ourselves to others that in the end we become disguised to ourselves.”

Disguise

When we don’t have a firm grasp on what makes us unique individuals, our identity; we miss out on opportunities to build productive lives. If we want to live life to the fullest we must understand what it is we seek to get out of it. You must “know yourself.”

I believe it takes having gone through challenges and struggles to get to the point where we contemplate our deepest sense of self. Who Am I? Where is my place in this world?

Place In The World

There came a point in my life when I realized that being a joyous person meant stop feeling sorry for myself. When we compare ourselves to others, trying to duplicate their lifestyle and choices, we fail to understand our potential to become amazing, unique individuals.

So take time to sit in silent reflection. Become aware of your thoughts and actions and how they affect your life.

I think it is in our nature to feel important. To feel valued. If I want love and acceptance from others, I need to send love into the world. Treasure relationships. Share joy. The energy you put out into the world will come back to you 10 fold.

#LawOfTheUniverse

~Breathe Easy~

30 thoughts on “Who Am I ?

  1. Beautiful post, Tom. It’s such an important message; you found the message in a 17th century quote, and showed how it’s even more relevant today. Keep writing!

    Like

  2. great post, full of wisdom, so much truth, it’s why parenting is so important, and the influences we leave behind, i have seen the cloud, you have wisdom to burn friend, blessings

    Like

  3. I’m fighting with the same thing right now. I’m talking with a pastor and the two questions he presented to me was “Who am I?” and “Why am I?” I’m personally trying to get rid of my masks and it’s a very hard process to do. Being 46, almost 47, it’s going to take time I know. Very good post.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on We have no Secrets and commented:
    I am often feeling disconnected from myself although I have spent much of my life (even as a child) cultivating my self-awareness and consciousness of humanity and the world around me. I feel there are very few people with the same priorities in the world now. It’s not about who you become as a human, but what you are as a commodity.

    Like

    • Wow. There is so much to unpack and explore here. I love psychology and sociology and could easily get lost in a lengthy exchange with you on this subject. Personally, my experience was quite the reverse: I had little to no awearness of, well, social-awareness and because of my challenges, more focused on issues that effected only my well being. Either way, I empathise with your fight to be a better individual and against the belief that people are only as useful as their monitary output.

      Like

    • As a matter of fact, it’s in the “About Me” section, lol! Thank you for the comment and interest in my blog. I feel that we are learning new things about our talents, desires and meaning each day. The important thing is to make a concerted effort to have an emotional dialog with ourselves.

      Like

  5. Hi, Tom, very pleased to meet you! I believe that I found my way here via Jason/OM but I’m not sure because I’ve been tooling around your blog, engaged, interested to the point that I’m a little turned around 🙂 I had been having breathing problems for years and recently found relief. Apparently after my last pregnancy 9 years ago, my stomach moved into a position that hindered my breathing and oxygen intake. Moved back to it’s correct position, the care provider said, “Take a deep breath” and I did. Then I cried tears of happiness. I will never taking breathing for granted and I can’t begin to tell you how much I admire your courage, tenacity, and joy. Breathe on, Tom, breathe your best and know that I’m rooting for you! #NF

    Like

  6. I believe it is important to get to know yourself, to accept yourself for what you are. I have spent half a lifetime trying to do just that. Sometimes I think I have made it other times I truly doubt myself. However, at the end of the day, I feel that I am making strides and that is better than sitting back and letting life happen to me. I am master and commander even if it is a tiny boat in a very large sea,
    Bright Blessings
    x

    Like

  7. Is it over simplifying it to say it all comes down to honesty…with yourself most of all? To be brave enough to find out who you really are and then live true to that? Great, thought provoking blog. Thanks for giving me something to ponder as I move through my day 🙂

    Like

  8. “So take time to sit in silent reflection.”
    So true. Turn off the cell phone; let the screen saver kick in. Listen to your mind without distraction.

    Great post.
    Cheers

    Like

  9. Hi Tom,
    You’re a good man!
    You said, “I think it is in our nature to feel important. To feel valued.” So very true.
    It used to annoy me when anyone seemed to Want to be complimented. But now I feel like why not give them a good word? There is a need there. You can see it.
    Marilyn

    Like

  10. Thank you for this post Tom. My first sponsor would often say to me, “Your higher power didn’t bring you this far to suffer.” I do have choices about how I feel, regardless of the outsides. And nearly every moment of the day I choose to feel joy, and gratitude. Glad to get a chance to read your thoughts on this.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Living In The Moment | Breathe This Life

  12. Pingback: Living In The Moment | Breathe This Life

Leave a Reply

