Apple today keeps the passion in play!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wxe_0-rttIw (Watch 1st minute thirty.)

Today, as I sat on a beautiful San Diego beach, I turned on my MacBook Pro to type up my newest blog entry. Signed on to my Safari internet browser to sign into my WordPress blogging platform. Now as I’m sure Mac users are aware, the initial page that comes up when opening an internet window is the Apple Homepage. My usual impatient clicking and typing to get to my destination was somehow thrown as I sat captive, entranced by the opening video to the IOS7 keynote speech. The first minute thirty is brilliantly inspiring. No people. No talking. No crazy colorful animations or diagrams. Just words and simple shapes connecting the thoughts as beautiful poetry.

If everyone is busy making everything, how can anyone perfect anything? We start to confuse convenience with joy, abundance with choice. Designing something requires focus. The first thing we ask is, “What do we want people to feel?” Delight. Surprise. Love. Connection. Then we begin to craft around our intention. It takes time. There are a thousand “no’s” for every “yes.” We simplify. We perfect. We start over. Until everything we touch enhances each life it touches. Only then do we sign our work. [Designed by Apple California] :END

What I love about the beginning video clip, and Apple in general, is that their vision is expressed by seamlessly fusing the human element with technology. Apple gadgets contain all this emotional weight for such a light piece of machinery. While their goal obviously is to produce and sell products, their core message seems to be improving life through technology.

Moreover, reading the quote on its own is also extremely inspiring! As we are bombarded with busy work, when will we have time to explore our passions? How did we go from living by our ideals to coveting superficial images? There is much symbolism here if you look for it. I’d like to think that the “product” is us and the video poses questions that will challenge and strengthen our souls. To me, this video’s message is a perfect metaphor for life.

And life can’t get much better than vacationing near the beach, where everyone is laid back and technological entanglements don’t seem important. Facebook? Who cares. Email? It will wait. Phone calls? They’ll leave a message if it’s important. Sure I still use my phone and computer here and there…..but most time is spent outdoors (getting a tan without the ferocious heat= win/win!).  It’s amazing how perfect weather can invigorate the soul and change your whole living dynamic! I hope everyday has the wind on your back and the sunshine on your face!

~ Breathe Easy ~

Leave a Reply

