The Gift Of Inspiration

A parent’s job is often times a grueling, thankless job. They work tirelessly to provide for and protect their children in the hope that they will grow up and pay it forward through their own children. From the day I was born, beginning with an emergency heart surgery, my parents had to face difficult parental decisions with the goal of shaping me into a “normal,” well-balanced person. I reflect on the pressures and sadness they must have felt as they tried to put me on an equal playing field as other children. Medically related short-term memory challenges made it difficult to learn at the same pace in highschool, when teachers were pushing us harder than ever. I remember vividly the notes, meetings and tearful pleas between my parents and teachers. One particular teacher didn’t or chose not to understand how someone with oxygen deficiency issues would need extra help retaining information. Just thinking about him angers me. But it also brings me joy. Joy and comfort in knowing I have 2 people who will press their patience, ego and resolve to fight for me….and ask nothing in return. Sometimes I wonder how-or if I could ever pay them back for all they have done for me. What I realize is that there is no amount of money or huge gesture that could reciprocate the gifts, physical and emotional, they have given me. The best way I can show them my gratitude is to live my life to the fullest; with a smile on my face and a light in my heart.

I found this article online which illustrates a special type of bond between parents and their sons. I hope it inspires you as much as it did me.

Gift of Inspiration

2 thoughts on “The Gift Of Inspiration

  1. Very inspirational! I don’t get around as much as I’d like, but we do travel to the Oregon coast, go out to dinner, and maybe the occasional trip to the hospital for meds. Your courage is to be admired! Breathing attacks, coupled with panic attacks, are the worst, scariest thing I’ve ever gone through. I take morphine for those, and it works great. I’m on hospice now, so writing my blog is helpful beyond measure!

    Like

    • Thank you for your input and sharing ur story. I can relate to your breathing attacks…it’s like that commercial says, “When you can’t breathe, nothing else matters!” So glad you can find joy in blogging and please keep in touch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

